The Maltese Presidency of the Council of the European Union


Did you know that this institution is ruled by a rotating presidency? Do you know who the current president is?

The Council does not have a permanent leadership, the presidency rotates among the member states of the EU every six months. The presidency is not an individual, but rather the position is held by a national government. The presidency’s function is to chair meetings of the Council, determine its agendas, set a work program and facilitate dialogue both at Council meetings and with other EU institutions. The presidency is currently (until the end of June) held by Malta.

Three successive presidencies are known as presidency trios. The current trio is made up of the NetherlandsSlovakia and Malta.

Malta, officially known as the Republic of Malta is an island, and it is the smallest member state of the EU. During their six months period, they faced challenges in the field of Brexit or elections in the UK and in France.

Maltese Presidency has made significant achievements in investing, banking union, and economic policy coordination. Estonia will take on its responsibilities from July.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *